Skip to content

Kurgan- Ahead of his Time?

July 22, 2009

kurgan Joker

Last night i introduced my wife to the wonderful world of Highlander. Sadly, she found that many aspects of the original film (the “good one”) made little or no sense, and that Christopher Lambert is creepy looking and kind of a crappy actor.

However, wifey was roundly impressed with the character of the Kurgan, played by Clancy Brown, and declared him “Ahead of his Time.” Wifey’s admiration for Clancy’s fusion of horror and comedy was so great that she proceeded to declare the Kurgan as the likely source material for Heath Ledger’s inspired rendition of the Joker in 2008’s Dark Knight.

So- Here’s to the Kurgan- Ahead of his Time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. A. Strung permalink*
    July 22, 2009 1:57 pm

    Highlander is one of those movies that I am afraid to revisit. I seem to remember it seeming flawed-yet-cool when I first saw it. Usually those lose the “cool” part over time. I was never one of those rabid Highlander fans, so I wouldn’t be thrown into a depression if it didn’t hold up, but I would be a bit disappointed.

  2. November 22, 2009 11:42 am

    The original movie is still to this day cool & ahead of it’s time. The simple fact that your not into this type of movie for whatever reason makes you not the right person to give any kind of remark.
    I know many people who don’t like movies that are clearly greats. For one reason or another people like yourself will always find something to pick on.

    • A. Strung permalink*
      November 22, 2009 12:45 pm

      If you’re talking about me, I AM into this kind of movie. And if you’re talking to the author, I think it’s safe to say he is too. And we both like Highlander, specifically, so we’re all on the same page there, too.

    • Mutterskopf permalink
      November 24, 2009 5:00 pm

      Hey Albert-

      I’ve probably watched the first Highlander movie 15+ times, and the second one 3 or 4 (the first time being the crappy original studio release, the other times being the later director’s cut). I think I’ve watched all the other sequels at least once. I never really got into the tv show, but anyways I guess what I’m saying here is, I love Highlander too! But I do think it’s ok and healthy to acknowledge its limitations, in the context of still loving it.

      “B-A-L-A-N-C-E balance!”

Leave a Reply

