Skip to content

Ode To Oreo

November 13, 2009

 

*Jul 31 - 00:05*

Dead Dog Walking (or not)

Today the city will euthanize Oreo, the “miracle dog” who survived being thrown from the sixth story window of a Red Hook building by her owner this spring.  Apparently after a few months of therapy she was unable to be rehabilitated and her behavior is still “unpredictable” so the ASPCA has decided to put her down. Well, thank god the same rules don’t apply to humans. If I got thrown out of a window, I’m pretty sure it would take me more than two months to get over it; more than two months to be able to trust anyone again. And I’m positive that the window throwing incident was the apex of a lifetime of hitting, kicking, and general mistreatment.  Now of course I don’t want to see anybody get mauled by a mentally unbalanced pit bull, nor do I wish for the dog to live in confinement for the rest of her life, but perhaps a little more time, training, and patience would have helped her get back into a societal situation.  But I guess the choice has been made and today is her last day.

 

So, Oreo I just want to say how sorry I am that you ended up with a really pathetic, weak, and depraved owner and I feel that as a city, maybe we let you down.  But as the Talking Heads sing, “Heaven, heaven is a place, a place where nothing, nothing ever happens”.  And maybe that’s just the kind of peace you deserve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. A. Strung permalink*
    November 14, 2009 4:34 pm

    Well the dog’s already seen worse than a gentle (I assume) euthanization, I guess. Makes you wonder what’s the point, really.

  2. tiefighter25 permalink
    January 23, 2010 2:30 pm

    I’m not sure if this makes me sad or mad. Is smad a word?

Leave a Reply

