Skip to content

Song of the day: Vampire Weekend: Cousins

January 11, 2010

If you’re into this sort of thing, you’d already know all about this song and video, as it’s been out for a while. But it continues to impress the heck out of me so I am into it today.

Vampire Weekend can be pretty annoying and certainly they have an “image problem”. It kind of reminds me of The Strokes back in the day, though the image is certainly different. But there’s a similar “I feel like I should hate them but this song is great” reaction – from me anyway.

Their newest album, Contra, is kind of low-key and partly Paul Simon singing-y and somewhat dull (on first listen, granted) but one big exception is this frenetic song. The video is perfect for the song, too. I wish more of the album was like this. I was pretty horrified by the previous single, “Horchata” (blech) which leads off the album, and even if the rest of it doesn’t grow on me (to the extent that it can – they’re never gonna be a big fave of mine), I’ll give them a lot of credit for “Cousins”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tiefighter25 permalink
    January 13, 2010 3:49 am

    If you took an honest lunch-time poll, guilty pleasures make the world go round. I read that @ the combination Pizza Hut Taco Bell.

    • A. Strung permalink*
      January 13, 2010 8:09 am

      Heck I don’t even consider that commmbination song a guilty pleasure. It’s just silly

Leave a Reply

