Skip to content

Marlon Brando

January 13, 2010

So Marlon Brando is without question and by far the greatest actor ever to grace the silver screen. No-one even comes close; about the best we’ve had since him is probably Meryl Streep or maybe Daniel Day-Lewis, but they’re still not in his singular class.

Brando was quite a thinker in his own eccentric way. From the books I’ve read and footage I’ve seen, I’d characterize him as intelligent, sensitive and rather unorthodox. Anyway I was poking around on YouTube and came across this interview with Dick Cavett which displays all these things, as well as some primo awkwardness from Mr Cavett.

Near the end of part one and continuing through part two, Brando addresses his having had Sacheen Littlefeather accept his Academy Award for The Godfather, and the controversy it caused. For one of the most ridiculed moments in Oscar night history, he sure makes it sound reasonable, and then expands on it with a clear-eyed view of Hollywood’s treatment of minorities in general. Just goes to show, I guess.

One Comment leave one →
  1. tiefighter25 permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:36 pm

    I like ice cream, I want ice cream, my life is meaningless without ice cream.-Zim

    I’m sorry, I hear Dick’s voice, and I want to turn my hamburger into an A-1 steak-burger.

Leave a Reply

