Skip to content

Obligatory Oscars Post

March 8, 2010

avatar

I really think Avatar is overrated as a film, and didn’t deserve to win Best Picture. But I do think visually it’s enough of an achievement that James Cameron should have won Best Director. Overall it’s not a great movie by any stretch but neither is The Hurt Locker, and Cameron really may have changed the way movies are watched. I know when I saw Avatar in 3D IMAX I thought it was the greatest thing in the world for the first hour or so, until I got used to the spectacular look of it and the lame story kicked in.

I will say that I’m sort of glad Cameron lost out, on the basis of his annoying personality. That may have factored into Avatar not winning, as the “historical” nature of a female winning Best Director may have factored into The Hurt Locker’s Kathryn Bigelow winning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. A. Strung permalink*
    March 13, 2010 2:26 pm

    Look how goofy this picture is.

Leave a Reply

