Skip to content

Alex Raymond’s Flash Gordon

April 23, 2010

When I was a kid I read my dad’s collection of Alex Raymond‘s Flash Gordon strips. I loved it and was totally immersed. (On the Star Wars tip, it was interesting to see so many similarities, though I was old enough not to be offended; my Star Wars love was unaffected.)

Raymond’s strip was imaginative, adventurous and fun. I can still feel like I felt when I first read it, how satisfying it was and how clear its vision. Maybe someday they’ll make a worthwhile movie version (I like that funky DeLaurentis 80s take but it’s sort of its own thing and doesn’t have the same spirit as Raymond’s strip), but I don’t think the original can be topped.

But anyway, here’s to Alex Raymond and Flash Gordon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

