Skip to content

Joni Mitchell vs Bob Dylan; Prince

May 13, 2010

joni m

I remember reading this interview a long time ago where the interviewer discussed with Joni Mitchell that Prince was an admirer of hers. Her response was – not verbatim but close “Well the Salieris always recognize the Mozarts”. That was off-putting but all these artistes have the capacity to say something obnoxious every now and then.

Today I ran across this thing at spinner.com that references an LA Times interview. The quote of interest from Ms. Mitchell regards one Bob Dylan:

“Bob is not authentic at all. He’s a plagiarist, and his name and voice are fake. Everything about Bob is a deception. We are like night and day, he and I.”

Okay, first of all, saying Bob Dylan is “inauthentic” is a bit like saying David Bowie is “inauthentic” – like, no shit. I don’t think anyone has perceived Dylan in that way since well before I was born, and in fact I think it could be argued that his true greatness really only asserted itself when he lost the phony veneer of folksy authenticity. Anyway that’s another story I guess. The point is, Joni Mitchell is an asshole, apparently. And though I can’t claim to be really familiar with her stuff, it seems her poor manners and inflated ego are out of proportion to her body of work, ie, “plagiarist” or no, Bob pwns her, on the real, daily, weekly, monthly yearly. No offense.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:35 pm

    You know, Neil Young is singing Rock n’ roll will never die, and Neil never rocked and rolled in his life. I mean, he rocked, but he didn’t roll. He has got no swing in him.
    Joni Mitchell (asshole)

    • A. Strung permalink*
      May 14, 2010 4:09 pm

      That’s true. I never thought about it but yes. More grist for the rock n roll was killed by Euros (and Canadians?) and we needed The Ramones to resurrect it

  2. ladeerayne permalink
    May 14, 2010 9:28 am

    What is wrong with her? I remember the Prince comment too. The funny thing is out of Prince, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, and Joni Mitchell, I guarantee hers is the least recognizable name. I’m takin’ it to the streets to find out!

    • A. Strung permalink*
      May 14, 2010 4:07 pm

      To be fair, recognizability doesn’t equal quality. But I will say out of those four I’m probably most like to hang out with Neil Young. Then Bob Dylan. Between Joni Mitchell and Prince it’s a toss up. I’m not even a fan of hers but I bet Prince would be real creepy and annoying. She would just be snooty. I don’t know.

  3. la mama permalink
    May 17, 2010 3:47 pm

    Here’s an observation: All four of these people are either from Canada or a state bordering Canada. What can this MEAN??? Is it a latitude thing? A border thing?

    I think I’d rather hang out with Neil than with any of the others, too, by the way.

    • A. Strung permalink*
      May 17, 2010 8:20 pm

      I don’t know where Joni Mitchell or Neil Young are from exactly but I do find it amazing that Prince and Bob Dylan, arguably the two greatest pop musicians of the 20th century, are both from … Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

